Gift Guide: For The Bookish Fangirl In Your Life

I could subtitle this: Gifts you should please buy me right now. Is that too on the nose? Sorry not sorry. Whether you are looking to buy a gift for your wife, best friend, sister, or another awesome bookworm in your life who is only mostly a grown up – let this be your guide to winning Christmas.

 

 

Taylor Swift’s new CD Reputation is giving me life right now and I’ve only heard three songs. Promising stuff for anyone in the Swift Army.


I think a pretty coffee mug is a safe bet for just about anyone but if you can combine multiple obsessions you have a winner on your hands. I like this Talk Darcy To Me mug from the Bookery Boutique.


Who isn’t a Stranger Things fan these days? Give her front porch a face lift with this awesome Upside Down Welcome Mat from Cloud 9 Craftss.


Lamy Fountain Pens are touted as one of the better affordable fountain pens. Don’t forget some extra ink!


I’ve been coveting the Marrying Mr. Darcy card game for ages but haven’t splurged on it yet. Win Game Night with a sure hit for fans of Pride & Prejudice.

 

Okay on to the books! These are five books currently at the top of my wish list:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas is getting so much attention right now. It’s a National Book Award Longlist title and a #1 New York Times Bestseller. “Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.


Girl Logic by Iliza Shlesinger aka my favorite comic is perfect for your friend who loves a good celeb memoir / comedic essays. It’s a “collection of essays and observations on a confident woman’s approach to friendship, singlehood, and relationships.


Turtles All The Way Down by John Green is one of those titles that all the book bloggers are talking about right now because every bookish person knows to bow before John Green for all eternity. This time is tackling mental illness and also friendship and family. “Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.


Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe by Melissa De La Cruz is basically a home run choice if you are shopping for someone who loves Jane Austen retellings, Christmas, awesome YA authors or even better all of the above. “Darcy Fitzwilliam is 29, beautiful, successful, and brilliant. She dates hedge funders and basketball stars and is never without her three cellphones—one for work, one for play, and one to throw at her assistant (just kidding). Darcy’s never fallen in love, never has time for anyone else’s drama, and never goes home for Christmas if she can help it. But when her mother falls ill, she comes home to Pemberley, Ohio, to spend the season with her family.” That’s right – this one is swapping the genders of Darcy and Lizzie – so intrigued!


When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon is perfect for fans of sweet love stories with a twist. ” Eleanor & Park meets Bollywood in this hilarious and heartfelt novel about two Indian-American teens whose parents conspire to arrange their marriage.

And of course if you are concerned they have already read these books or you just aren’t sure which one to choose, bookworms love nothing more than a gift card to their favorite bookstore and a chance to run wild through the stacks!

One thought on “Gift Guide: For The Bookish Fangirl In Your Life

  1. The Hate U Give is amazing, hope you’ll be able to read it soon 🙂 Haha you can never go wrong with a gift card – I’m going to ask one too for Secret Santa 😛 Also that Darcy mug is so cute!

    Like

Comments are even better than cookies - leave me some!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s